In line with the Welsh Government's 'Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021' requirement for all 735 Town and Community Councils in Wales to electronically publish the key information and the outcome of their Council meetings within 7 days of the meeting, Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen Community Council hereby publish an unnumbered and unsigned summary of the:

Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting of

### Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen Community Council

# Due to the current Coronavirus crisis it was held as a remote virtual meeting on Wednesday 26 May 2021 at 6.43 pm

Present: Cllr Chris Morgan. Cllr Amanda McConnell, , Cllr Derek Havard, Cllr Jill Winslade, Cllr Phillip Rosser, Cllr Liz Aldworth, Cllr June Gale, Cllr Lisa Phipps and newly elected Cllr Nigel Bull and Cllr Gareth Pratt

Temporary Clerk/Proper Officer: Robert Campbell

Chair Cllr Chris Morgan chaired the virtual meeting that commenced at 6.43 pm

#### A/ Appointment of a Chairperson of the Council

CIIr Chris Morgan was nominated, seconded and unanimously agreed as Chairperson for 2021/22

Resolved

# B/ Appointment of a Vice Chairperson of the Council

Cllr Derek Havard was nominated, seconded and unanimously agreed as Vice Chairperson for 2021/22

Resolved

# C/ Apologies

Cllr Daniel Llewellyn and Cllr Dave Davies

Page.

#### D/ Declarations of Interest

Cllr Lisa Phipps declared a family association with an applicant for one of the two youth members' places on the Council

## E/ Minutes of the previous Council AGM held on 1 October 2021

The meeting acknowledged that the minutes were agreed for signature as a true and correct record

#### F/ Decisions made

The Council agreed on the following decisions:

F1. A sum of £1000 for the Chair's personal use for 2021/2022

F2. To stay with their current bank, Coop Bank, Newport Branch with the current signatories of Cllrs Morgan and Havard and the new Clerk when appointed. The Council also agreed to consider opening a new bank account with Unity Trust

F3. To remove agenda items 9, 10, 11 and 15 as these functions are already covered in the Council's Standing Orders and Financial Regulations documents to be considered at agenda item number 22

F4. To maintain their four Committees of five Members for 2021/2022

F5/. Those Committees' Chairpersons and Vice Chairpersons and Members as:

Finance – Chair Cllr Morgan, Vice Chair Cllr Winslade with Cllrs Rosser, Bull and Aldworth

Land/buildings – Chair Cllr McConnell, Vice Chair Cllr Winslade with Cllrs Havard, Bull and Aldworth

Environment – Chair Cllr Phipps, Vice Chair Cllr Pratt with Cllrs Havard, Bull and Rosser

Events – Chair Cllr Winslade, Vice Chair Cllr Morgan with Cllrs Gale, Llewellyn and McConnell

The quoracy of each Committee was agreed as three Members

F5. To invite two Youth Representatives onto the Council for 2021/2022

F6. To maintain its membership of the following bodies for 2021/2022 with these agreed representatives:

One Voice Wales – Cllr Havard

Caerphilly Town and Community Councils Liaison Committee - Cllrs Pratt and Rosser

Caerphilly Town and Community Councils Joint Committee with CCBC - Cllr Pratt (with Cllr Rosser as reserve)

SLCC – The Clerk when appointed

Bedwas Workmen's Hall Management Committee – Cllrs McConnell, Winslade and Phipps

F7. To nominate Mr M Fisher as their Internal Auditor 2021/2022

F8. For Cllr Morgan as their press Officer for 2021/2022

F9. For Cllrs McConnell and Phipps as their social media administrators for 2021/2022

F10. Their cycle of meetings for 2021/2022 with one date change from 3 June to 10 June 2021

F11. The following Council Policies were agreed for 2021/2022:

Standing Orders - with slight amendments, Financial Regulations - with amendments, Terms of Reference for Committees, Asset Register and Risk Assessment, Social Media, Biodiversity Statement, Climate Emergency Statement, Local Resolution Protocol, Data Protection and Privacy, Personnel Management, Grievance, Equality and Diversity, Training and Development, Health and Safety, Whistleblowing, Recruitment and Selection and Code of Conduct

#### Resolved

The meeting closed at 7.40 pm

The full Minutes when agreed and signed will also be made available on the Council's website as soon as practically possible