## **BEDWAS, TRETHOMAS & MACHEN COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Council held at the Council Offices, Newport Road, Bedwas on Thursday 3<sup>rd</sup> May 2018 at 6.30pm

Present	<u>Apologies</u>
	E. Aldworth
D Davies	
E Davies	
J Gale	
D Havard	
L Phipps	
A McConnell	
C Morgan	
K Regan	
P Rosser	
J Walsh	
J Winslade	
	A.Crane

Also Present: Jolene Dalton (Clerk), Gill Howells (Deputy Clerk)

Councillor Morgan thanked all Councillors and the Clerks for their support during the last year. Councillor Phipps recognised the work undertaken by Councillor Morgan over the last year and how far the Council has come during that time due to his efforts.

### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillor Aldworth and Alec Crane

#### 2. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR 2018-19

**Resolved:** That Councillor Jill Winslade be appointed Chairman to the Council for the municipal year 2018-2019

Councillor Winslade was invested with the Chain of Office by the out-going Chairman, Councillor Morgan and signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Councillor Winslade took over the remainder of the meeting.

#### 3. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN FOR 2018-19

**Resolved:** That Councillor Dave Davies be appointed Vice Chairman to the Council for the municipal year 2018-2019

Councillor Davies was invested with the Chain of Office by the Chairman, Councillor Winslade and signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 4. COUNCIL STANDING ORDERS & FINANCIAL REGULATIONS FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2018-19

**Resolved:** The Council approved the standing orders, financial regulations and Hall Maintenance Procedure for the municipal year 2018-19.

#### 5. TO APPOINT THE STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 2018-19

Resolved: that the following be the Committees for the municipal year Finance Committee
Planning Committee
Police & Road Safety Committee
Land & Buildings Committee
Environment & Leisure Committee

## 6. TO APPOINT CHAIRMAN & VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 2018-19

**Resolved:** that the following Chairman and Vice-Chairman be elected:

COMMITTEE	<u>CHAIRMAN</u>	VICE CHAIRMAN
Finance	C. Morgan	J. Gale
Planning	P. Rosser	J. Walsh
Police & Road Safety	A. McConnell	E. Davies
Land & Buildings	D. Davies	C. Morgan
<b>Environment &amp; Leisure</b>	J. Winslade	K Regan

### 7. TERMS OF REFERENCE FOR THE STANDING COMMITTEES

**Resolved:** No changes were necessary

#### 8. GRANT APPLICATION FORMS FOR 2018/19

**Resolved:** The updated form was adopted. The website will be updated and only new forms should be used for all future applications.

#### 9. CODE OF CONDUCT FOR 2018/19

Resolved: The model code of conduct was adopted

## 10. MEMBERSHIP OF ONE VOICE WALES, SOCIETY OF LOCAL CLERKS AND THE JOINT LIAISON COMMITTEE CCBC/ COMMUNITY COUNCILS

**Resolved:** That the Council will not renew its membership of One Voice Wales. All other memberships remain the same.

# 11. APPOINTMENTS OF REPRESENTATIVES ON THE FOLLOWING EXTERNAL BODIES:

**Resolved:** that the following Members represent the Council on the Committees and outside bodies listed below.

## **Joint Liaison Committee C.C.B.C / Community Councils**

J. Winslade & D. Davies

## **Police Representative**

A.McConnell & E.Davies

## Workmen's Hall Management Committee (6 plus Chair & Vice Chair)

L Phipps, A McConnell, C. Morgan, D. Havard, ,P Rosser, E Davies, K.Regan

## Press Officer

D. Havard

### **Scrutiny Group**

J Walsh, L Phipps, D Havard, J Gale, L Aldworth

#### **Employment Group**

E Davies, D Davies, J Winslade, A McConnell, C Morgan

## Social Media Officer

A. McConnell

#### 12. DATES OF MEETINGS FOR 2018-19

**Resolved:** that meeting dates be set as 7<sup>th</sup> June, 5<sup>th</sup> July, 6<sup>th</sup> September, 4<sup>th</sup> October, 1<sup>st</sup> November, 6<sup>th</sup> December, 10<sup>th</sup> January, 7<sup>th</sup> February, 7<sup>th</sup> March, 4<sup>th</sup> April.

## 13. CHAIRMAN'S ALLOWANCE 2018-19

**Resolved:** That the Chairman's allowance for 2018-19 be set at £1,000, as agreed in the Budget.

#### 14. PAYMENTS TO MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY COUNCIL

**Resolved:** That the Council makes provision for all members to receive £150 towards expenses for the 2018/19 period.

### 15. DIRECT DEBIT OR BACS PAYMENT

**Resolved:** That utility bills, cleaning costs, salary payments, HMRC and similar other bills can be made by the Clerk subject to satisfactory invoices being presented

#### 16. BANK SIGNATORIES 2018-19

**Resolved:** That the bank signatories for the municipal year 2018-19 be as follows: Cllrs C. Morgan & D. Havard along with Clerks J. Dalton & G. Howells. Cheques should be signed by one clerk and one councillor.

Chairman	Data
Chairman	Date